The Sir Arthur Clarke Awards – Announcement of the 2018 Winners

The Arthur C. Clarke Foundation and its UK partner the British Interplanetary Society are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Sir Arthur Clarke Centenary Awards. In a ceremony at the Reinventing Space Conference Gala Dinner at the Royal Aeronautical Society in London on 1 November 2018, nine awards were presented to team and individual winners.

It was a memorable evening in which the best of the UK Space Sector, and a number of significant international players, were once again recognised and rewarded for their fantastic achievements. All the Finalists were in effect winners as, against some very stiff competition from 52 nominees for the nine awards, they had been selected, by a panel of 38 judges from across the Space Sector, as the top three in their award category.

The Winners of the 2018 Sir Arthur Clarke Awards are:

1. Space Achievement – Industry/Project Team

Oxford Space Systems – For Innovation & enthusiasm at its best, growing from start-up to 30 people in 4 years, with the rapid development and production of new ways of stowing and deploying spacecraft equipment.

Represented by: Manisha Kushwaha, Debbie Fellows and Matthew Dreaper

2. Space Achievement – Industry/Project Individual

Magali Vaissière – For exemplifying, as head of ESA’s Directorate of Telecommunications and Integrated Applications, total commitment to making the European space sector commercially competitive globally.

3. Space Achievement – Academic Study/Research

The UK Cassini team – For their massive contribution to the Cassini-Huygens mission which ended in spectacular fashion in September 2017 after over 13 years exploring the Saturn system. UK scientists were involved in 6 of the 12 instruments on the Cassini orbiter and 2 of the 6 instruments on the Huygens probe. The science has been spectacular and UK scientists were responsible for many of the revelations.

Represented by: Prof. Carl Murray –Queen Mary University, Prof Andrew Coates – MSSL, University College London, Prof Geraint Jones – University College London, Prof. Pat Irwin, Oxford University and Dr. Leigh Fletcher – University of Leicester.

4a. Space Achievement – Education and Outreach Team

The ESERO-UK Space Ambassadors For their inspirational and enthusiastic work with teachers and pupils in hundreds of schools per year across the UK, using space as a context in STEM subjects to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers.

Represented by: Jo Richardson, Bryony Turford and Rachel Jackson

4b. Space Achievement – Education and Outreach Individual

Vix Southgate – For her dedication and efforts over many years on the behalf of the British Interplanetary Society, her promotion of space through STEM outreach at schools and public events, and for her achievements as World Space Week UK National Co-ordinator.

5. Space Achievement – Student

Rob Garner – For his work and support for UKSEDS, building partnerships with major space companies, giving many students the opportunity to gain experience. He served on the UKSEDS Executive Committee and Board of Trustees, where he helped turn the organisation around and was instrumental in the development of, and in the organisation of the annual National Student Space Conference.

6. Space Achievement – Media, broadcast and written

The BBC 2 ‘Astronauts – Do you have what it takes?’ Team – For an excellent programme that entertained and educated the general public in the trials and tribulations of astronaut training and selection. The candidates, with such a wide range of interests and expertise, proved interesting. The experts, Cdr Chris Hadfield, Dr Kevin Fong and Dr Iya Whiteley had the combined knowledge and experience to make excellent assessors and they gave good advice to the candidates through their numerous ups and downs. Many of the candidates have gone on to be great Space ambassadors.

Represented by: Tom Coveney, Helen Thomas Gilly Goshawk and Astronauts’ winner Suzie Imber

7. Lifetime Achievement

Richard Peckham – For being a mainstay of the UK space sector, always diplomatic and supportive and the leader of key UK Space initiatives that have strongly benefited the UK Space community. With 30 years in the aerospace sector, ultimately as Director of Strategy & Business Development in Astrium and Airbus Defence and Space, Richard, as Chair of UKspace from 2010 to 2012, was a member of the Space Leadership Council, VP Space for the industry association ADS and a founding director of ISIC which became the Space Applications Catapult. He led the delivery of the Integrated Growth Strategy initiative published in 2010 which led to the formation of the UK Space Agency. In 2017 he stepped back in as chair of UKspace at short notice due to the resignation of the current incumbent. He retired in early 2018 to join a consultancy.

8. International Achievement

The SpaceX Falcon Team – For the development and successful launch of the Falcon Heavy. They created a great spectacle, generating excitement around the world and demonstrated the next stage in the development of launchers. Falcon Heavy leads the way for a new generation of commercial launch vehicles demonstrating SpaceX’s commitment to widening access to space. It was a great team effort.

Represented by Tom Ochinero, Senior Director, SpaceX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.